Skip to Content

Are Doritos Gluten-Free? (And What Can I Eat Instead?)

Of all the different types of chips out there, there are none that are quite as satisfying as Doritos.

They work well on their own, taste even better with a dip, and come in a huge variety of flavors to choose from. Doritos are simply excellent, and you cannot go wrong with picking a bag up to eat as a snack. 

Are Doritos Gluten-Free? (And What Can I Eat Instead?)

However, if you suffer from celiac disease or gluten intolerance, you may be skeptical about eating a bag of Doritos.

Many chips out there contain gluten, and so they are unsuitable for those who have to remove gluten from their diet. But is this the case for Doritos?

In this guide, we’re taking a deep dive into the ingredients that are used to make Doritos to determine if they are gluten-free.

We’re also taking a look at some of the best gluten-free alternatives for your favorite Dorito flavors that aren’t suitable for those who are gluten intolerant. 

Keep on reading to find out more! 

Are Doritos Gluten-Free?

If you’ve come here looking for a clear and straightforward answer regarding whether Doritos contain gluten, then you sadly aren’t in luck.

As is often the case with products that are available in multiple flavors, it is impossible to determine definitively whether, or not, Doritos contain gluten as the different flavors are created using different ingredients. 

The good news is that, yes, some flavors of Doritos are gluten-free. So if you are somebody who suffers from gluten intolerance, but loves the crunch that you can only get from a good, old Dorito, then you’re in luck.

The bad news is that the flavors of Doritos that are gluten-free aren’t necessarily going to be the flavors that you like.

The flavors of Doritos that tend to be gluten-free are the plainer flavors that are commonly paired with dips. Rather than the fresh and exciting flavors that make Doritos so popular.

For that very reason, you shouldn’t run to grab your favorite flavor of Doritos just yet (unless your favorite flavor is organic white cheddar, of course).

Instead, keep on reading to find out all about which Doritos are gluten-free, and which sadly aren’t. 

Do Doritos Contain Any Gluten?

Unfortunately, yes, some Doritos do contain gluten. Gluten is a common ingredient in a wide variety of different foods, and Doritos are one of them.

You will find gluten in a number of different flavors of Doritos, and that is because this is something that is naturally found in a lot of the ingredients used to create Doritos. Specifically to create the flavors of certain types of Doritos. 

Doritos are available in roughly different flavors, and these flavors can be divided into two categories: Doritos flavors that contain gluten and those that don’t.

The flavors that contain gluten for obvious reasons are not suitable for those with gluten intolerance.

However, the flavors that do not can be further divided into two categories: products that are registered as U.S. Gluten Free, and those that do not contain gluten but don’t officially contain no gluten.

There are some Doritos that you will be unable to eat if you are gluten intolerant.

Others that you can eat that officially are gluten-free (and advertised as such), and others that are gluten-free but aren’t officially gluten-free. Both of these categories will be safe to eat.

However, only some of them will be advertised as gluten-free. That is why it is important to check the ingredients list before you tuck in. 

Doritos Which Have Been Tested To Be Gluten-Free

If you are searching for Doritos that have been tested to be gluten-free, then you’re in the right place.

However, if you are only comfortable eating Doritos that have been tested to prove that they are gluten-free, then you will likely be a little disappointed.

Of the 20 different flavors of Doritos available, there is just one that is actually proven to be gluten-free. So, let’s take a look at what they are. 

The only flavor of Doritos that are gluten-free is white cheddar flavored. These Doritos are Organic, and they actually contain zero gluten too.

So if you are searching for a flavor that you can eat secure in the knowledge that there is no gluten contained in the Chips, then the Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips are suitable for you.

While you may be happy to know that there are some Doritos out there that are proven to be gluten-free, you will be disappointed to hear that these Doritos are often quite difficult to get your hands on. 

These Doritos often aren’t available in most stores in the USA, but you can purchase them from international stores.

Your best chance of getting your hands on these Doritos is to order them online. You will have to wait a little while for them to arrive, but it’ll be totally worth it when you receive your Doritos. 

Are Doritos Gluten-Free? (And What Can I Eat Instead?)

Doritos Which Are Gluten-Free But Haven’t Been Tested

While there is only one flavor of Doritos that is proven to be gluten-free, there are a number of flavors that contain no gluten products but aren’t proven to be gluten-free.

The fact that these Doritos haven’t been proven to be gluten-free essentially means that these products cannot be advertised as gluten-free.

However, just because they can’t be advertised as gluten-free doesn’t mean that they can’t be consumed by those with gluten intolerance. 

The main reason why these Doritos cannot be advertised as gluten-free is typically that they have been prepared in a kitchen where there are non-gluten-free products also being prepared.

This means that there is a risk of cross-contamination when these chips are prepared. However, a lot of the time, these products will not be contaminated and they won’t contain any gluten.

Of course, if you choose to consume these Doritos with a gluten intolerance then you are taking on the risk yourself. 

There is actually a pretty long list of Doritos that contain no gluten in the ingredients list. So, if you are willing to take on the small risk of cross-contamination then the following flavors could potentially be gluten-free:

  • Nacho Cheese
  • Poppin’ Jalapeño
  • Taco Flavor
  • Salsa Verde
  • Cool Ranch
  • Twisted Lime
  • Tangy Pickle
  • Flamin’ Hot
  • Chili Cheese
  • Fiery Habanero
  • And lots more…

Doritos That Contain Gluten

Now that we have taken a look at the Doritos which are possibly good options for those suffering from gluten intolerance, let’s take a look at some of the flavors that definitely aren’t. 

As we mentioned earlier, there are some flavors of Doritos that absolutely are not suitable for those who are gluten intolerant.

These flavors are known for being made with ingredients that contain gluten, which is why they are unsuitable for those with gluten intolerance or celiac disease. 

Thankfully, for anyone who loves Doritos, you will be glad to hear that the number of flavors that are made including gluten is very small.

In fact, there are only a handful of Dorito flavors that are actively made using gluten.

These flavors include:

  • Spicy Sweet Chili
  • Flavor Shots (All Flavors)

If you are someone who has celiac disease or struggles to digest gluten, then these flavors of Doritos should be avoided at all costs. Thankfully, there are a number of flavors of Doritos that are safe for those with gluten intolerance. 

If the flavor of Doritos that you like best is on the list above, you’ll be glad to hear that there are a number of alternatives available for Doritos.

We’ll take a look at what these are shortly, but first, let’s answer some FAQs. 

The 5 Best Gluten-Free Alternatives For Doritos

Now that we have taken a look at which Doritos are made using gluten and which aren’t, let’s take a look at some of the best alternatives for you.

As we have established, if you have a gluten intolerance, then you may be able to consume the majority of Doritos flavors, and that is because they are not made using gluten.

However because of the risk of cross-contamination, we would recommend avoiding them if you have celiac disease. Instead, you should consider eating one of the great Doritos alternatives that are available out there. 

There are lots of delicious alternatives to Doritos available to choose from, so let’s take a look at some of the best options available for you. 


Just like Doritos, Beanitos are also tortilla chips. They are incredibly similar to Doritos, and the only thing that really differs is the fact that Beanitos are made to be gluten-free, while Doritos are not. 

If your favorite thing about Doritos is the fact that they are available in a wide variety of flavors, then Beanitos is a brilliant choice for you. Some of the best flavors out there include Lime, Taco, Ranch, Nacho, and Red Hot Cajun. 

Something else that is excellent about Beanitos is the fact that they are available in most stores.

Unlike some of the other options here, and specifically, the gluten-free Doritos, are quite difficult to get your hands on. But this isn’t the case for Beanitos. 

While you will be able to get Beanitos in most local stores, you can also buy them in bulk from Amazon. Click here to check out some excellent deals on their sea salt flavor.


Perhaps the best alternative to Doritos is Paqui. In terms of both taste and texture, Paqui is almost spot on when compared to Doritos, so we are certain that you will not be disappointed when you eat these chips.

The only real difference between the two is that Paqui is certified gluten-free. 

There is a wide range of flavors of Paqui available, and a lot of them are very similar to the flavors of Doritos that are available.

So if you have recently been diagnosed with celiac disease or it has been recommended that you stop eating gluten, you should definitely check out these chips. 

Getting Paqui in your local store is a little harder than Beanitos, but you can easily purchase a wide variety of flavors on Amazon.


Of all the different substitutes that we have looked at in this guide, Beanfields is actually the one that tastes the healthiest. While they are very similar to Doritos, they definitely taste a lot healthier than them. 

If you are eating healthy, then Beanfields is the option that we would recommend. They are a little different from Doritos, however, they can still fill your tummy in the same way as Doritos, and they make an excellent snack too. 

No matter whether you want a bag of chips as a midday snack, or a bag of chips to eat with dip, they will make an excellent choice. Purchase them on Amazon here.


Siete chips look nothing like Doritos, and this is mainly due to the fact that they are not shaped like triangles. However, in terms of texture and flavor, these chips are very similar. 

The best thing about these gluten-free chips is the fact that they taste and feel authentically Mexican.

So they are the perfect choice to pair with any Mexican cuisine that you may be making. They are also sturdy yet crunchy, and perfect for pairing with any dip. 

These chips are available in a huge variety of flavors, so you should definitely check them out if you are looking for gluten-free alternatives for Doritos. Buy them on Amazon or in your local store.

Frequently Asked Questions

Now that we have taken a look at some of the flavors of Doritos that are gluten-free and some that are not, let’s answer a couple of FAQs for you.

Are Cool Ranch Doritos Gluten Free?

Here in the USA, Cool Ranch Doritos are not officially gluten-free. These chips are not made using gluten-based ingredients, however, they also are not made in a factory that is specifically designed for gluten-free products. 

In order for products to be officially gluten-free they have to be kept completely separate from any products that contain gluten.

This is because these gluten-free products need to be kept totally clear of products containing gluten, otherwise there is a risk of the products coming into contact with gluten. 

If you have a very minor gluten intolerance, then a trace of gluten likely won’t cause you any issues. But if you suffer from celiac disease, then it is a lot more serious.

So bear this in mind if you decide to consume Doritos that aren’t officially gluten-free. 

Are Nacho Cheese Doritos Gluten Free?

Just like Cool Ranch Doritos, Nacho Cheese Doritos also aren’t officially gluten-free. These Doritos are not made using gluten-free products.

However, they are made in factories where products containing gluten are prepared. So there is the risk of cross-contamination. 

This is the main reason why you will never see Nacho Cheese Doritos advertised as gluten-free here in the USA.

That being said, you often can consume Nacho Cheese Doritos if you suffer from gluten intolerance, and that is because they typically do not contain any gluten. Instead, there is just a small risk of them being cross-contaminated.

So, again, if you have a minor gluten intolerance these chips will typically be safe (find out more about Lay’s and gluten here). But if you have celiac disease, it might be a good idea to avoid them. 

Can Those With Celiac Disease Eat Doritos?

If you suffer from Celiac disease, then the only flavor of Doritos that are actually safe for you to consume is the flavor that we looked at earlier which are officially gluten-free. 

If you have celiac disease, then the only flavor of Doritos that we would recommend choosing is the Organic White Cheddar flavor.

While these Doritos can sometimes be quite difficult to get your hands on, they are officially gluten-free which is why they are safe for those with celiac disease. 

While the majority of Doritos do not contain gluten, they are not suitable for those with Celiac disease because of the risk of cross-contamination. Instead, it is best to stay safe with the Organic White Cheddar flavor. 


In short, while the majority of Dorito flavors are not made using gluten-based ingredients, there is only one flavor that is officially gluten-free. So if you suffer from Celiac disease, these chips sadly won’t be suitable for you. 

In this guide, we have taken a look at the Doritos flavors that may be suitable for those who are gluten intolerant, and some of the best gluten-free alternatives. 

Thanks for reading!

Justin Roberts